World Council of Churches

A worldwide fellowship of churches seeking unity, a common witness and Christian service

You are here: Home / Church families / Anglican churches / ACC

The Anglican Consultative Council

In 1968, the bishops of the Lambeth conference requested the establishment of a body representative of all sections (bishops, clergy and laity) of the churches, which could coordinate aspects of international Anglican ecumenical and mission work. With the consent of the legislative bodies of all the provinces, the Anglican Consultative Council was established in 1969, and has met regularly since.

The Anglican Communion consists of an estimated 80 million Christians who are members of 44 different churches. These make up 34 provinces, four united churches, and six smaller churches, spread across the globe. Of these, 29 provinces and 7 churches are members of the WCC. The Anglican Consultative Council has a permanent secretariat, the Anglican Communion office, based in London, which also serves the other instruments of communion. The secretariat is responsible for organizing all meetings of the conciliar instruments of communion, as well as the commissions and networks of the communion.

Periodical: Anglican Episcopal World

Member Of: Anglican churches
Associate Member Of:
(Within the WCC membership)
Other Members:

Anglican Church of Central America

Anglican Church of Mexico

Anglican Church of Papua New Guinea

Bermuda (Extra-Provincial to Canterbury)

Church of the Province of South East Asia

Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui

Episcopal Church of Cuba

Falkland Islands (Extra-Provincial to Canterbury)

Associate Members:
(Within the WCC membership)
Other Associate Members: