You are here: Home / News & Media / News / Assembly elects new WCC presidents

Assembly elects new WCC presidents


04 November 2013

The 10th Assembly of the World Council of Churches elected eight new presidents today during a closed session at its proceedings in Busan, Republic of Korea.

According to the WCC constitution the role of the WCC presidents is to promote ecumenism and interpret the work of the WCC, especially in their respective regions. The presidents are ex-officio members of Central Committee.

The Central Committee will also be elected during the assembly, but after the presidents are elected.

The eight WCC presidents are:

Africa:  Rev. Dr Mary Anne Plaatjies van Huffel, Uniting Reformed Church in Southern Africa

Asia: Rev. Prof. Dr Sang Chang, Presbyterian Church in the Republic of Korea

Europe: Archbishop Anders Wejryd, Church of Sweden

Latin America and Caribbean:  Rev. Gloria Nohemy Ulloa Alvarado, Presbyterian Church in Colombia

North America: Bishop Mark MacDonald, Anglican Church of Canada

Pacific: Rev. Dr Mele’ana Puloka, Free Wesleyan Church of Tonga

Eastern Orthodox:  H.B. John X Patriarch of the Greek Orthodox Church of Antioch and All the East

Oriental Orthodox: H.H. Karekin II, the Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians


WCC 10th Assembly website